Skip to content


Who are the Nath Yogis ?

The Yogis who belong to the Nath Sampradaya, and perform special yogic practices are called the Nath Yogis. Nath or Natha is a Sanskrit word which means “Lord, Master or Protector”.

Nath Sampradaya was supposed to have been founded by Adi Nath, who is none other than Lord Shiva himself. The knowledge of Hatha or Raja Yoga was then passed on to Matsyendranath, Gorakshanath and so on in a succession of a Guru – Shishya (disciple) manner. In this way the knowledge and its essence was preserved in its pure form. Some members of the Nath Sampraday believe Rishi Dattatreya, an incarnation of the Hindu trinity Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva was its first teacher. A notable aspect of Nath tradition practice has been its refinements and use of Yoga, particularly Hatha Yoga.

To know more about Nath Sampradaya click the link below.

More about Nath Sampradaya

Nav Nath 

Navnath are the nine saints on whom the Nath Sampradaya, the lineage of the nine gurus, is based.

  • Machindranath or Matsyendranath
  • Gorakshanath or Gorakhnath
  • Jalindranath
  • Kanifnath or Kanhoba
  • Gahininath or Gehininath
  • Bhartrinath or Bhartarinath or Raja Bhartari or Bhartṛhari
  • Revananath or Revan Siddh or Kada Siddha or Ravalanath
  • Charpatinath or Charpatakshnath
  • Naganath or Nageshnath